People


Faculty

foto Dr. Alessandro Alboresi

Dr. Alessandro Alboresi

alessandro.alboresi@bio.unipd.it

Microalgae molecular physiology, genetics and system biology

foto Prof. Alberto Bertucco

Prof. Alberto Bertucco

alberto.bertucco@unipd.it

Design of microalgae production processes. Microalgae-based wastewater treatment. Process simulation and optimization.

foto Prof. Fabrizio Bezzo

Prof. Fabrizio Bezzo

fabrizio.bezzo@unipd.it

Design and optimization of energy systems. Design of photobioreactors for algae production. Modelling and identification of photosynthetic mechanisms in microalgae growth. Optimal design of experiments.

foto Dr. Nicoletta La Rocca

Dr. Nicoletta La Rocca

nicoletta.larocca@unipd.it

Ultrastructural and physiological characterization of the photosynthetic apparatus of plants, microalgae and cyanobacteria exposed to environmental stresses. Screening of extremophiles, microalgae and cyanobacteria, for the production of high value compounds, such as primary and secondary carotenoids, lipids and polysaccharides. Optimization of the trade-off between biomass and compound production.

foto Prof. Tomas Morosinotto

Prof. Tomas Morosinotto

tomas.morosinotto@unipd.it

Regulation of the photosynthetic apparatus in plants, mosses and algae. Evolution of photosynthetic apparatus in different organisms. Biofuels production in algae.

Post-docs

foto Dr. Eleonora Sforza

Dr. Eleonora Sforza

eleonora.sforza@unipd.it

Optimization of microalgal growth conditions in photobioreactors: nutrients and carbon supply, photosynthetic conversion. Exploitation of wastewater for microalgal cultivation. Growth modeling.

foto Dr. Diana Simionato

Dr. Diana Simionato

diana.simionato@unipd.it

Regulation of the photosynthetic apparatus in Nannochloropsis gaditana.

Ph.D students

foto Elena Barbera

Elena Barbera

elena.barbera@studenti.unipd.it

Nutrient recovery and recycling strategies for sustainable microalgal growth in industrial processes

foto Alessandra Bellan

Alessandra Bellan

alebellan@hotmail.it

Microalgae genetic engineering

foto Carlos Eduardo de Farias Silva

Carlos Eduardo de Farias Silva

carloseduardo.defariassilva@studenti.unipd.it

Evaluation of bioethanol production from microalgae

foto Andrea Meneghesso

Andrea Meneghesso

andrea.meneghesso.1@studenti. unipd.it

Characterization of photosynthetic efficiency in algae using non-invasive techniques in vivo

Research assistants

foto Barbara Gris

Barbara Gris

barbara.gris@unipd.it

Scale-up of microalgal cultivation systems

foto Anna Segalla

Anna Segalla

anna.segalla@unipd.it

Maintenance of algae strains collection; selection and characterization of random mutants for altered photosynthesis